top of page

Looking at loneliness

I've been looking at loneliness and depression and not writing for almost a year. It is time to stop this nonsense and get myself out and into the world. For me to be able to survive, I must have a purpose.

If I can help one person defeat depression or feel better about their autoimmune disease by telling my struggles and strengths, then that is what I must do. There is not a better time to start again than today.

First, I must pull myself from the pits of hell and continue with my new found life. I've come to realize, finally , that I will never be the same as I was before my diagnosis of autoimmune disease. I think that many of us struggle with this . I've seen others in my RA groups who can't accept that we kinda have to start over and move on. We can't do the things we use to do and we shouldn't be expected to.

For some, this transition seems to come easily, for others, it may take years. Whenever it happens, count it as an accomplishment, a big step forward because it is. Leaving a job, friends, and sometimes family isn't what we enjoy doing but once we accept it, we can move on to a new life, a journey with different people, different outcomes. It doesn't change who you are inside.

I've taken the first step today towards having a purpose, to be productive in some way by getting back to sharing my struggles and strengths with others. I want to be involved with others like me.

bottom of page